Heiligenberg Travel Awards Minimize

Heiligenberg Travel Awards

Previous Winners

Heiligenberg Student Travel Awards are awarded annually to qualified students who wish to present work in the field of neuroethology at national and international scientific meetings. Six awards or more (depending on the availability of funds) are available each year. The awards may cover expenses such as travel to and from the conference site, the conference registration fee, and/or housing costs up to a total of $700.

The highest priorities will be the International Congress for Neuroethology (ICN) and Gordon Research Conference (GRC) in Neuroethology: Behavior, Evolution, and Neurobiology. Applications to attend other pertinent conferences, however, are welcomed.

The award is given in honor of Walter Heiligenberg, who was a distinguished neuroethologist, and a pioneer in the field. Walter made seminal contributions to understanding the neural mechanisms underlying the jamming avoidance response of weakly electric fish.

Qualifications: Both the student and the student’s mentor must be ISN members by the deadline of application (to be decided by the selection committee). Applicants must be registered graduate students at a university, and must plan on presenting their work at the conference. Priorities will be given to applicants who have demonstrated academic excellence and research potential as evidenced by the abstract of the work to be presented and the recommendation letters. Applicants with demonstrated financial needs also will be considered for these awards. Preferences will be given to applicants who have not previously received the award.

Because 2017 is not a congress year, the deadline for applications for the 2017 Neuroethology Gordon Research Conference and other summer meetings is April 30, 2017. Results will be announced before the May 21, 2017, deadline for registration for the Gordon Research Conference. To apply, fill out the application form below and have letters of recommendation from two ISN members submitted to Joyce Lancaster at jlancaster@allenpress.com.

Click here for Application in pdf form.

  • This application uses Adobe Acrobat® format and require Adobe Acrobat Reader®. If you don’t have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer, you may download it for free from here.

Awards Selection Committee...

2016 Heiligenberg Travel Award winners

Morgane Nouvian                                                           
University of Queensland, Australia

Anna Stockl                                                        
Lund University, Sweden

Darcy Gordon                                                   
Boston University

Michaela Warnecke                                                       
Johns Hopkins University

Martin Klappenbach                                                      
University of Buenos Aires

Theo Robert                                                      
University of Exeter

Pedro Jacob                                                       
University of Cambridge